IT’S BRITNEY B!TCH

i haven’t posted a blog since before my surgery so i think its time for an update on here. Im so sorry its really long!!!

with cranial spinal radiation comes lots and lots of terrible side effects. Today was my 15th round (almost half way through) and so far i have already lost 7 pounds since i started treatment. I haven’t had a real appetite in a while. Another side effect is nausea- which is the one I’m experiencing most. Its terrible, I’m on 3 different nausea meds for it, which sometimes they work some times they don’t – 90% of the time you will see me with a green barf bag in my hand lol. i have been getting extremely sick and weak, which i really hate. Its so hard going from being an active dancer, to not even being able to stand up long enough to brush my teeth some days. But it all comes in waves- one day i won’t be able to walk or eat or talk much, while the next day i can feel fine and have enough energy to do whatever! The nerves in my brain that control my scents and taste are being effected by radiation, so everything to me tastes and smells like radiation- gross!!

Now of course the side effect of my radiation that i was dreading the most – hair loss

Last wednesday was my 10th round of radiation – the middle of week three, when my doctor warned me my hair should be falling out. Wednesday afternoon i got out of the shower and brushed my hair and noticed my hair falling out. Of course i had a meltdown. Its easy for some people to say “it’s just hair” but its hard when you’re a teenage girl. I’ve always been attached to my hair- i would freak out if my hair dresser would cut off an inch too short. And i always had fun dying my hair cool colors… it started in 5th grade when i dyed my hair pink if anyone remembers that haha.   On Saturday the majority of my hair was falling out and it was just torture to watch. Sunday morning i woke up with about 2 chunks of hair left and i decided to pull a Britney Spears 2007 and shave my head. That was very hard for me to do but thats one thing i got over with and I’m not stressing over anymore. One of these pictures shows my scar now everyone can see it, but a scar is a tattoo with a better story right??

IMG_8994   IMG_8960IMG_8982  IMG_8926

OKAY. now my birthday!!! My birthday was this Tuesday, September 22. Yes i did have to spend a lot of it at St.Jude but Lancôme was there and gave me a makeover, which was really fun.  In the afternoon my team surprised me. They were all wearing hats, headbands, or wigs to support my new hair style. I am so blessed to be on a team with 26 girls who i can call my best friends they have been extremely supportive with everything I’m going through.     Of course i had to end my birthday with a bang by throwing up blood… but its totally okay i  had the best birthday. Thank you everyone so much for all my birthday wishes!!

IMG_9047 IMG_9048

This Friday,  September 25 Houston High school is going gold for childhood cancer awareness month. and we are raising money for St.Jude. If you’re reading this, come!!! I’m really looking forward to it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

