“I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me”

So today was a tough one, I walked out of St.Jude with about 10 sheets of pathology reports with nothing but bad news. I was actually shared this news a couple weeks ago, but today it was “official”, and now I’m ready to share. Since my case is so rare, so many doctors are looking at my cancer over and over again trying to figure it out. Looking back on my new cancer, what they thought to be as PNET…turns out to be a high grade glioma, which if you know anything about brain tumors/brain cancers, you know that glioma is the worst of the worst and such a nasty aggressive cancer. The first thing I thought when I heard this news is that two people who I was very close with lost their lives due to their cancer morphing into a glioma. With that being said, the survival rates are very very low. My original treatment plan was full cranium/spinal radiation to treat my anaplastic ependymoma grade 3, then give my body a couple weeks of rest and treat the PNET with 4 rounds of intense chemo. My doctors have decided to stop all treatments for now because of my new diagnosis, chemo would only hurt me right now. I was told this cancer WILL come back, whether its in 2 months or 2 years.. nobody knows. But when it does come back I will have brain surgery for the 3rd time (if it’s in an operable location). Then God only knows what will happen from there. But I will be having brain and spine MRI’s every 2 months until the bastard returns. The only medicine that can help me right now is prayer. My neurologist shared this bible verse with me a couple months ago and it really gives me hope-   Philippians 1:6   6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”  I know that God is not done with me, statistics might be done with me.. but God is not. I have a future and God has planned out my future.. I am not ready to leave this earth… screw you cancer. Thank you everyone so much who has supported me and kept me in their thoughts and prayers!! So much love!

Standard

18 thoughts on ““I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me”

  1. Haley Arthur says:

    You are an amazing young lady! You have handled this with such grace! I have no doubts you have had the worst feelings and emotions going through what you have been dealt but the way you present yourself to the public is and absolute testimony! Keep on fighting- there are so many of us that know only your name but we are praying as though we have a personal relationship!!! Hang in there precious girl- God has put you on a BIG platform to proclaim is name!!!

    Like

    • Brenda Jacobson says:

      I so agree with her comment above. It is a beautiful sentiment. Even though none of us know each other, and I am a senior citizen, we are all in one army fighting this battle with Debbie and Allie. Awesome comment.

      Like

  2. Theresa Williams says:

    Dearest Allie: You don’t me, but I live in Springfield, MO. My daughter suffers from WIlson’s Disease, and about 2.5 years ago, we nearly lost her. She had to be resuscitated twice and was unable to do anything besides blink her eyes. No walking, talking, eating . . . NOTHING! Through God’s grace, we are witnessing a miracle and she is eating again, staring to take baby steps again and once in a while, we actually get to hear her voice! God is great and through Him all things are possible. I will continue to pray for you and God’s guidance of your doctors as they assist you in this fight. In our house, we say F**** WILSON’s. For you, Sweet Allie, we say F**** CANCER! Praying . . .

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    I love you, Allie! Like I said before, SO many people could learn from your faith, grace, and strength! You are absolutely AMAZING! Words can’t even express how proud I am of you or how much my heart and sole BEG for God to perform a miracle. God has performed some amazing miracles!! I’m SO proud of you for keeping your faith. Love you, Mrs. Garcia….you have acted SO much like an adult (actually more of an adult than a lot of adults ha)… you can call me Amy. 🙂 xoxoxo

    Like

  4. Trudy says:

    Bles your spirit! My prayers and rosaries will be shared with Cody and you, Promise you, I will never stop praying. As of today you are on a prayer chain here in Virginia.
    Cody’s grandmother

    Like

  5. Brenda Jacobson says:

    Allie – we have been following all your recent adventures and posts on facebook thru Bev Korman. I learned to know her last year and help volunteer with her foundation.
    She made a comment to me about my last name – Jacobson – and hence the relationship of family(we are not related – a different branch) began. We have been praying for you forever. I put your mothers name and your name on our prayer list at church When we were at the altar 3 weeks ago, we both said an extra prayer for you. We loved your time in New York, but are bummed with your news. Just wanted to let you know that we are constantly thinking of you and your family. We don’t personally know you, but love you as a sister in Christ. You have shown the world such grace and courage. I know you will keep the faith, and we pray for divine healing in your coming days. Our love and hugs to you……Brenda and Lloyd Jacobson in Lancaster, Pa.

    Like

  6. Donna Pratt says:

    Hi Allie I am Michael Moore’s sister.
    I keep up with you through your great grandma Tina. I just want you to know that I have been praying for you since you went to St Jude’s. I love your neurologist. Quoting scripture does not happen often with doctors He is right!! Also Isiah 41:10 Fear thou not;For I am with thee:be not dismayed;For I am thy God: I will strength thee:yea, I will help thee;yea I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

    Like

  7. Lenee O'Neill says:

    Hello, Allie. I grew up with Peggy Hurley and consequently met Colleen many many moons ago. Your dear grandmother shared your story with me a few years ago and I started praying. However, those prayers have increased significantly and now include your mother, Debbie. Allie, I will continue to pray for you and your family at daily Mass. I, too, believe that the good work God has begun in you is far from finished. You are an amazing young lady : ) Keep up the good fight, Allie, and know that you are not alone. With many prayers and hugs, Lenee Fiedler O’Neill, Hackettstown, NJ.

    Like

  8. Ashley cochran says:

    You are so right! God does have big plans for you! You are both beautiful & inspiring. If anyone was ever worthy of a miracle, it’s you! Keeping you in my prayers & sending lots of love & healing vibes your way!!

    Like

  9. Laurie Gaut says:

    Allie, you are a fighter and such an inspiration! You are in our family’s prayers daily. We are sending you our good thoughts, too. I hope you can feel all the arms wrapped around you-I think all of Germantown’s!!
    The Gaut Family

    Like

  10. Susan McMechen says:

    Allie – my brother went to high school with your mom. I have seen posts in FB by your mom and now your blog. You are a gorgeous young woman. I cannot imagine what you are going through but what I see when I see you in photos and read about you and now I read your own words in your blog is a beautiful, positive, inspiring young woman. You are clearly a fighter and if anyone can beat this you will with your determined spirit! I have a 17 year old daughter and cannot imagine her facing what you have been dealing with for the past 2 years. It’s obvious you are determined to do whatever it takes to beat this but with your beautiful & positive spirit you will show this disease that you will conquer it! I will pray for you and your family every day. Keep fighting Allie!

    Like

  11. Linzie Dixon says:

    Hi Allie,
    I know we don’t know each other but I read your story and I just want you to know I’m praying for you. You’ve
    got a beautiful soul and a amazing support system.
    I wanted to share this verse with you and hope that you never give up and stay strong.

    Proverbs 20:24,
    “Since the lord is directing our steps, don’t try to figure out everything that happens along the way.” You may never understand it, but you can come back to this core truth: God knows what He’s doing. His plan for your life is good, and it’s not going to work against you, it’s going to work for you.

    Like

  12. Alllie,
    I want to briefly cover three concrete ideas about your therapeutic options. Maybe you’ve heard of all of them; you seem to be going to St. Jude, so care should be outstanding. However, in case you haven’t seen them:
    1) The Economist had an article on Sept. 26, 2015 (page 82) about joint treatment with imiprimine and ticlopidine for glioma. Both drugs are safe and probably wouldn’t interfere with whatever else you are doing. The study was done in mice, which often gives very different results than in people, so keep a skeptical note in mind. But it seems there would be little downside to giving this a shot.
    2) I assume that your doctors have already explored immunotherapy.
    3) There is a foundation called Lazarex dedicated to matching cancer patients to clinical trials, in order to expand the therapeutic options available. They specifically try to help patients like you (look it up on the Web – Lazarex.org).
    I hope that something here may be helpful. I have spent much of my over 40 year career in oncology diagnostics, and some time on glioma gene therapy (which didn’t work, unfortunately), so I have some limited idea of your difficulties. None of us get to choose how long we are here, but we do get to choose how we live. I wish you good fortune in your future.
    R. Maurer

    Like

Leave a Reply

